Capturing My Thoughts

My Social Media Policy

So what is my policy when it comes to social media? Before this class, I was only focused on Facebook as my social media source. I used it mostly for personal use to keep updated on my friends and family. Now with all the new social media I am learning, I see that there are different uses. Well since I am still learning it all, this is where I am starting…

Twitter: As of right now I am still trying to figure out Twitter. I am currently open to anyone reading what I have to say, and I am open to reading any posts that make some sort of sense to me. I do not check Twitter frequently, so it is not a great way to convey a message to me. I mostly use Twitter to tweet directly from a site that I am on and interested in that has the tweet already written for me. One of the first things I do check when I go onto Twitter is the @connect because I am interested in what people have to say to me or about me. I also definitely check the direct message box and will respond as soon as I see the message. I don not tend to spend a lot of time reading other people’s tweets. I mostly find what some of the people are tweeting is pointless. Perhaps this is because I mixed my personal with my professional.

Google +: I use google plus to post interesting articles to my google group for my doctorate class. I have a hard time keeping up with the amount of posts that are on there daily. I choose to read the posts that include graphics or videos of some sort. Using the google hangout is something that definitely attracts me.

Facebook: Facebook is still my favorite. I’m not sure if it is because I am use to it, but I just love how user friendly it is. I use Facebook for personal use. I do try to read almost every post on my news feed page. I even take the time to “facebook stalk” other pages that I find interesting. I like to know what is going on in my friends and family world. I respond to all posts from friends. If I get a friend that I do not know or someone I know but prefer to stay clear of, I ignore their friend request. I “like” many different businesses of my interests on facebook as well. I typically do a facebook cleansing each year and reconsider who I am socializing with. I try to keep everything on my page private except for the people I have friended.

Pinterest: At first, I loved Pinterest. I had all the time in the world to make boards that interested me this summer. I even won an iPad from creating a pinterest board,so I do favor this source. However once back to the daily grind, I find it hard to use pinterest frequently. I typically follow my friends to start, but I also google topics and locate other pinners with similar interests. I like pinners who have organized boards. I pin about many things, especially decorating ideas.

Although I enjoy social media sites, I still feel that the best way to contact me is through email. I constantly check my email. With social media, I can sometimes make time, or it is the first thing I push off. I see the value of using social media, especially for collaboration and advertising, but to use too many sources is overwhelming for me. I know there are dashboards, but I still think it can get to be too much.

 

Leave a Reply

